Skip Navigation


The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) is a research, policy, and advocacy organization dedicated to strengthening and advancing the work of public universities.  APLU's 237 members span across all 50 states, the District of Columbia, four U.S. territories, Canada, and Mexico. 

The association's membership includes 24 university systems and 208 universities, of which 74 are U.S. land-grant institutions. Twenty-three historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) are members, of which 21 are land-grant institutions (19 under the 1890 Morrill Act, two under the 1862 Morrill Act). 



Additional Information for Members

Members in the Spotlight