Skip Navigation
Jim Woodell, Ph.D.
Vice President for Economic Development and Community Engagement
Shalin R. Jyotishi
Associate, Economic Development and Community Engagement
Beverly Steele
Program Assistant, Economic Development and Community Engagement

National Academy of Inventors Fellows

The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) honors outstanding academic inventors each year by inducting a new group of NAI Fellows. In 2016, more than 90 inductees represented APLU member institutions. 

The 2016 NAI Fellows from APLU institutions are listed below. 

Akopian, David, The University of Texas at San Antonio
Ali, Kamal S., Jackson State University
Alivisatos, A. Paul, University of California, Berkeley
Baliga, B. Jayant, North Carolina State University
Barany, Francis, Cornell University
Bates, Paula J., University of Louisville
Berlin, K. Darrell, Oklahoma State University
Bhaduri, Sarit B., The University of Toledo
Bhattacharya, Pallab K., University of Michigan
Bowman, Christopher N., University of Colorado Boulder
Boyan, Barbara D., Virginia Commonwealth University
Brashears, Mindy M., Texas Tech University
Buchsbaum, Donald J., The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Carbonell, Ruben G., North Carolina State University
Carpenter, John F., University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Chaudhari, Raghunath V., The University of Kansas
Chen, Junhong, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Cherry, Simon R., University of California, Davis
Cima, Michael J., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Coldren, Larry A., University of California, Santa Barbara
Colwell, Rita R., University of Maryland
Cook, Diane J., Washington State University
Crooks, Peter A., University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Day, Delbert E., Missouri University of Science and Technology
de la Torre, Roger A., University of Missouri, Columbia
Dye, James L., Michigan State University
Eiceman, Gary A., New Mexico State University
Farritor, Shane M., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Fischell, David R., Cornell University
Furton, Kenneth G., Florida International University
Ghose, Kanad, Binghamton University
Gilbert, Juan E., University of Florida
Giudice, Linda C., University of California, San Francisco
Golshani, Forouzan, California State University, Long Beach
Golub, Lorne M., Stony Brook University
Goodenough, John B., The University of Texas at Austin
Halbur, Patrick G., Iowa State University
Herr, Amy E., University of California, Berkeley
Hoover, Edward A., Colorado State University
Iglesia, Enrique, University of California, Berkeley
Jin , Sungho, University of California, San Diego
Johnson, Barry W., University of Virginia
Junkins, John L., Texas A&M University
Khine, Michelle, University of California, Irvine
Klier, John, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Kohn, Harold L., The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kuznicki, Steven M., University of Alberta
Lavernia, Enrique J., University of California, Irvine
Leinwand, Leslie A., University of Colorado, Boulder
Ligler, Frances S., North Carolina State University
Liu, Yilu, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
López, Gabriel P., The University of New Mexico
Lopez, Mandi J., Louisiana State University
Mallapragada, Surya K., Iowa State University
Marder, Seth R., Georgia Institute of Technology
Marshall, Alan G., Florida State University
McGinity, James W., The University of Texas at Austin
Mealey, Katrina L., Washington State University
Merrill, Edward W., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Morejon, Israel J., University of South Florida
Muradov, Nazim Z., University of Central Florida
Muzyczka, Nicholas, University of Florida
Nair, Lakshmi S., University of Connecticut
Peyghambarian, Nasser, The University of Arizona
Piazza, Gary A., University of South Alabama
Pirrung, Michael C., University of California, Riverside
Pishko, Michael V., University of Wyoming
Prasad, Paras N., University at Buffalo, SUNY
Raines, Ronald T., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Rastatter, Michael P., East Carolina University
Riman, Richard E., Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rinzler, Andrew G., University of Florida
Rittmann, Bruce E., Arizona State University
Saif, Linda J., The Ohio State University
Sarkar, Sudeep, University of South Florida
Schmidt, Diane G., University of Cincinnati
Seames, Wayne S., University of North Dakota
Sirkar, Kamalesh K., New Jersey Institute of Technology
Smith, James E., West Virginia University
Snutch, Terrance P., University of British Columbia
Sonnenfeld, Gerald, University of Rhode Island
Speck, James S., University of California, Santa Barbara
Sreenivasan, Sidlgata V., The University of Texas at Austin
Suslick, Kenneth S., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Tehrani, Fleur T., California State University, Fullerton
Virkar, Anil V., The University of Utah
Wager, John F., Oregon State University
Wagner, William R., University of Pittsburgh
Warner, Isiah M., Louisiana State University
Weete, John D., Auburn University
Weiner, Andrew M., Purdue University
Weller, Thomas M., University of South Florida

Featured Project & Initiative

Photo Courtesy of Texas A&M University
Economic Development & Engagement
APLU believes public and land-grant universities should dramatically expand engagement efforts with partners in the communities they serve—members of the public, community organizations, business and industry, state and local government, and others.

Featured Project & Initiative

Clemson University
Economic Development & Engagement
Lightweight Innovations For Tomorrow (LIFT), APLU, and the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences (NCMS) created an Expert Educator Team (EET) to identify how colleges and universities can modify curricula to meet the knowledge, skills, and abilities workers will need for jobs in the advanced manufacturing sector.

Featured Project & Initiative

Economic Development & Engagement
The designation and awards go to APLU member universities that demonstrate excellence and leadership in planning, implementing, and evaluating programs and initiatives that support regional economic development.