Skip Navigation
Howard Gobstein
Executive Vice President

Sarah Rovito
Assistant Director, Research Policy

Tia Freelove Kirk
Staff Assistant

Theresa S. Mayer

Virginia Tech

CoR Executive Committee Class of 2019

Dr. Theresa S. Mayer is Vice President for Research and Innovation at Virginia Tech. Previously, she served as a Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and the Associate Dean for Research and Innovation in the College of Engineering at Penn State University, University Park. She received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Virginia Tech in 1988, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in 1994, where she was a Kodak Fellow. Prior to her current position, she served as the Associate Director of the Materials Research Institute, where she was the Site Director of the NSF National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network and the Director of the Nanofabrication Laboratory. Her research is in hierarchical nanomanufacturing and its application in electronic and photonic microsystems with new functionalities. She has several hundred refereed technical publications, invited tutorials and presentations, and holds eight patents. Two companies have licensed technologies for commercialization.

Her research has been supported by agencies including the National Science Foundation, Department of Defense, National Institutes of Health, Department of Energy, and industry. She has programs in several multidisciplinary research centers, including the NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) Center for Nanoscale Science, the STARnet Center for Low Energy Systems Technology, and the NSF Nanoscale Engineering Research Center (N-ERC) Advanced Self-Powered Systems of Integrated Sensors and Technologies (ASSIST).

Dr. Mayer has been active in professional societies, serving as the Technical Program Chair and General Chair of the IEEE Device Research Conference in 2005 and 2006, and the elected Vice-Chair and Program Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Nanostructure Fabrication in 2004 and 2006. She is a member of the IEEE Electron Device Society Education Award Committee and the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting Program Committee. She served as an executive committee member for the Electronic Materials and Photonics Division of the American Vacuum Society, the treasurer for the Electronic Materials Conference, and a symposium organizer for the Materials Research Society. Throughout her career, she has been active in engaging K-12 girls, undergraduate and graduate women in science and technology.

Featured Project & Initiative

Research, Science & Technology
The Highly Integrative Basic and Responsive (HIBAR) Research Alliance is a network of research leaders who believe that universities can improve research outcomes and increase benefits to society by engaging theory with practice for transformative solutions.