Skip Navigation
News & Media


November 17, 2015
In recognition of extraordinary community outreach, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today named San José State University (SJSU) the winner of the 2015 C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award. The Magrath Award was presented at the APLU Annual Meeting, now underway in Indianapolis, IN.
October 14, 2015
Washington, DC – The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today named six public research institutions as finalists for its third annual Innovation & Economic Prosperity (IEP) University Awards. The winners will be announced on November 17 at the association’s annual meeting in Indianapolis. The finalists — Auburn University, Clemson University, Ohio University, University of Illinois, University of Maryland, and University of Minnesota — are competing for four different awards that recognize different components of economic engagement. The award categories include talent, innovation, place, and connections.
October 13, 2015
Washington, DC — Cooperative Extension and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) today announced that Dr. Joe Outlaw of Texas A&M AgriLife Extension will receive the 2015 Excellence in Extension Award for his commitment to community engagement and his visionary leadership as Extension educator. A second honor, the National Extension Diversity Award, goes to a program called Texas Grow! Eat! Go! aimed at improving community health through exercise and nutrition education, also from Texas A&M AgriLife Extension. Both awards will be presented at the 128th Annual Meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) in Indianapolis, Indiana, November 15-17, 2015.
September 2, 2015
Framework will help institutions of higher education connect with and grow their regions of influence.
June 25, 2015
Washington, DC - The Association of American Universities (AAU), the Association of Public & Land-Grant Universities (APLU), the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO), the Innovation Alliance (IA), the Medical Device Manufacturers Association (MDMA), the National Small Business Association (NSBA), the National Venture Capital Association (NVCA), the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA), the Small Business Technology Council (SBTC) and the Alliance of U.S. Startups and Inventors for Jobs (USIJ) released the following joint statement on H.R. 9, the Innovation Act, which could be considered on the House floor as soon as the week of July 6: