Skip Navigation
News & Media


November 26, 2014
The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities’ (APLU) Experiment Station Section (ESS) recently named Carolyn Brooks, Colin Kaltenbach, Arlen Leholm, Bruce McPheron and Craig Nessler recipients of the inaugural 2014 Experiment Station Section Excellence in Leadership Awards. Each of them were honored with a plaque during a special awards program held during the 127th APLU Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida earlier this month.
November 5, 2014
APLU and the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) today announced the creation of the Task Force on Antibiotic Resistance in Production Agriculture.
November 3, 2014
APLU's Council of 1890 Universities today named the 2014 recipients of the 1890 Teaching, Research and Innovation Awards. Now in its second year, the annual honor highlights exemplary achievements at 1890 land-grant institutions by recognizing advances in teaching, research and innovation on 1890 university campuses and encourages further advancement and development in areas of critical importance. The awards were presented during a special reception at the 127th APLU Annual Meeting underway in Orlando, Florida.
October 22, 2014
Recognizing visionary leadership and diversity in educational programming, Cooperative Extension and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) today announced that Robert Kallenbach from the University of Missouri will receive the 2014 Excellence in Extension Award and Cesar Asuaje from the University of Florida will receive the National Extension Diversity Award.
July 31, 2014
One year after they launched a campaign to urge Congress and the President to close the nation’s innovation deficit, a group of prominent university, scientific, and business organizations today renewed their call for increased federal investments in research to build a strong long-term economy, improve medical treatments, and strengthen national security.