Skip Navigation
Projects & Initiatives

Antibiotics & Agriculture

The APLU and Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) Task Force on Antibiotic Resistance in Production Agriculture released a much-anticipated report that outlines a comprehensive national strategy for diminishing the role antibiotics used in food animal production systems play in the broader antimicrobial resistance (AMR) problem.

Congressional Briefing on Antimicrobial Resistance and One Health

On March 23, 2017, APLU and AAVMC sponsored a legislative briefing, Antimicrobial Resistance and One Health, for Congressional staffers.

The briefing focused on the educational, public policy, and research needs of antimicrobial/antibiotic resistance and One Health. The panel discussion consisted of the following:

  • Barbara Ekwall, Senior Liaison Officer, Liaison Office for North America, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, served as the moderator
  • Terry W. Lenhenbauer, Associate Professor and Director, Veterinary Medicine Teaching and Research Center, University of California, Davis, covered the educational program of the program (veterinarian) (full presentation here)
  • Hellen Gelband, Associate Director for Policy, Center for Disease Dynamics, Economics, and Policy covered the public policy segment (full presentation here)
  • Amelia R. Woolums, Professor, Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine, College of Veterinary Medicine, Mississippi State University, covered the research portion of the program (veterinarian) (full presentation here)

Additional Congressional briefings will follow.

Read the Report (October 2015)

Read the Learning Outcomes (February 2017)

The Task Force, comprised of leaders from U.S. agriculture colleges/land grant universities and veterinary colleges as well as key representatives from the production animal agriculture community and the pharmaceutical industry, detailed a comprehensive research and educational agenda along with plans on how it intends to implement it.

The report’s agenda is designed to explore and describe the nature and implications of the problem and educate producers, healthcare providers and the public about best practices. It also calls for a series of national summits to elevate the issue of antibiotic resistance to the top of the national agenda.

Formed last fall, the 14-member task force has been working closely with federal government agencies to develop an action plan that will leverage the collective strengths and expertise of North American universities to address what the Obama administration has termed a national security priority.

On February 22, 2018, APLU and AAVMC sent our a request for proposals for the Institute of Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Education which are due on April 1, 2018.

  • Task Force Members

    The task force’s members include:

    • Lonnie J. King, Dean, The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine (chair of the task force)
    • Robert A. Easter, President, University of Illinois (co-chair of the task force)
    • Richard A. Carnevale, Vice President, Regulatory, Scientific and International Affairs, Animal Health Institute
    • Thomas Coon, Vice President, Dean and Director, Oklahoma State University Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (DASNR)
    • Eleanor Green, Carl B. King Dean of Veterinary Medicine, Texas A&M University, College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
    • Ronnie Green, Vice President and IANR Harlan Vice Chancellor, University of Nebraska
    • Walter Hill, Dean, College of Agriculture, Environment and Nutrition Sciences, Tuskegee University
    • Christine Hoang, Assistant Director, Division of Scientific Activities, American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)
    • Ashley Peterson, Vice President of Science and Technology, National Chicken Council
    • Willie Reed, Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine, Purdue University
    • Kathy Simmons, Chief Veterinarian, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association
    • Liz Wagstrom, Chief Veterinarian, National Pork Producers Council

    Federal Liaisons are:

    • Bernadette M. Dunham, Director, Center for Veterinary Medicine, Food and Drug Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    • William Flynn, Deputy Director for Science Policy, Center for Veterinary Medicine, Food and Drug Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    • Steven M. Kappes, Deputy Administrator, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture

    Ex Officio members are:    




    • Alastair E. Cribb, Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Calgary
    • Francisco José Trigo Tavera, Secretary of Institutional Development, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)

    Organization Ex Officio members are:

    • Andrew T. Maccabe, Executive Director, Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC)
    • Ian Maw, Vice President, Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources at the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU)
    • M. Peter McPherson, President, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU)

    Staff Members are:

    • Eddie G. Gouge, Senior Associate Director, Federal Relations -- Food and Agricultural Sciences and Executive Director, Council for Agricultural Research, Extension, and Teaching (CARET), Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU)
    • Chase A. Crawford, Director, Antimicrobial Resistance Initiative, Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC)/Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU)