Skip Navigation
Projects & Initiatives
Jim Woodell, Ph.D.
Vice President for Economic Development and Community Engagement


IEP University Designation & Award Process

The IEP Universities program is divided into two components. First, institutions must earn the IEP university designation. They then qualify to apply for IEP university awards. A university must be a recipient of the designation before it can apply for the award. Questions regarding the IEP universities program may be directed to Shalin Jyotishi.

IEP University Designation Application

Designation application submissions are accepted four times a year. Submission deadlines fall on the first Friday of February, May, August and December. Institutions who earn the designation during the Februrary, May and August cycles are included in the given year's Class of IEP Designees which are recognized during the APLU Annual Meeting every November. December designees are included in the following year's IEP class. 

The submission dates for 2018 are:

  • February 2
  • May 4
  • August 3
  • December 7

See IEP University Designation Application Guidelines

IEP University Awards 

An institution must earn the IEP university designation in order to compete for an IEP award. IEP University Awards are given annually in three categories - Talent, Innovation, Place as well as a fourth top-prize - the Economic Prosperity Connections Award. Institutions interested in applying for IEP university awards should review the guidelines included below. 

See IEP University Award Application Guidelines 

Follow #IEPUniversities on Twitter