Skip Navigation

CECE Executive Committee

As the premier forum for economic and community engagement in higher education, APLU's Commission on Economic and Community Engagement is guided by an Executive Committee comprised of senior university economic and community engagement leaders as well as presidents, provosts, vice-presidents for research, Cooperative Extension directors, and other senior administrators from APLU member institutions all across North America.

Executive Committee members doers in the Commission. They develop and lead member-led projects while working with APLU to help shape the direction of the Commission and advise around funded research and initiatives. The Executive Committee helps APLU shape the agenda for the CECE Summer Meeting and CECE's meeting track at the APLU Annual Meeting. As outlined in CECE's operational guidelines, the Executive Committee is led by a presidential chair and two vice-chairs for economic and community engagement. CECE's chair and a vice-chair serve on the APLU Board of Directors during their tenure. Executive Committee members serve a three-year term.

Executive Committee Officers

Joan Gabel
Joan Gabel
CECE Chair
University of Minnesota
CECE Vice-Chair for 
Community Engagement
East Carolina University
Mark Clarke
CECE Vice-Chair for 
Economic Engagement
University of Houston

Executive Committee Members