Kelly Dalton
Executive Director, Board on Health and Human Sciences
(202) 465-8533

Kim Scotto
Senior Associate, Board on Health and Human Sciences
(202) 478-6093

Ellen Swallow Richards Public Service Award

Ellen Swallow Richards

The purpose of the Board on Health and Human Sciences Ellen Swallow Richards Public Service Award is to honor a nationally recognized leader who has a significant history of promoting and advancing the Human Sciences. It is likely that the nominees for the BHHS Ellen Swallow Richards Public Service Award will be individuals who have supported higher education, and especially the mission of the Human Sciences and other programs in land-grant universities. Although nominees may be Human Science scholars, it is not required.

The award is intended to recognize an outstanding leader who helps to advance the Human Sciences nationally and/or internationally. The award is named in honor of Ellen Swallow Richards, who dedicated her life to applying research to enhance the well-being of individuals, families and communities.

Eligibility and Nominations

Leaders who have earned recognition as advocates for the Human Sciences are eligible to be nominated for the award. Each BHHS member unit (college or university) is eligible to submit one nominee each year. Nominators shall compile a letter of nomination with a rationale for the candidate to be considered for the Public Service Award. Former recipients of the Public Service Award are ineligible for this award. The award will be presented at a special breakfast hosted by the Board on Health and Human Sciences at the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities’ annual meeting. The award winner must be available to attend the meeting and speak to the organization. BHHS will provide travel expenses and appropriate recognition.


Each BHHS affiliated college and university shall implement its own procedure for identifying nominees. Following a review of potential candidates, each BHHS member institution will nominate only ONE candidate for the BHHS Public Service Award. The Nomination Letter for this award shall be submitted electronically to bhhs@aplu.org as a single PDF document that includes:

  1. a nomination letter detailing the candidate’s outstanding achievements and contributions to advancing the Human Sciences;
  2. the nominee’s biography or vita; and,
  3. up to three excerpts of relevant supporting materials.

Examples of supporting materials include: newspaper and journal articles, speeches presented, books and legislation or policy documents. All supporting materials must also be submitted electronically to bhhs@aplu.org. A BHHS review panel will evaluate and rank the nominees and recommend a recipient to the BHHS Board of Directors. Applications for 2023 BHHS awards are due July 28, 2023.

Public Service Award Recipients

Jo Britt-Rankin
Jo Britt-Rankin
Extension Professor
University of Missouri​,
School of Health Professions
Carolyn Jackson
Carolyn Jackson
Carolyn Jackson Consulting
Shiretta Ownbey
Shiretta Ownbey
Professor and Graduate
Oklahoma State University,
College of Education and
Human Sciences
Dr. Sonny Ramaswamy
President and CEO
The Northwest Commission
on Colleges and Universities 
Caroline Crocoll Henney
Caroline Crocoll
Division of Family and
Consumer Sciences,
National Institute of Food and
Catherine Woteki
Catherine Woteki
Former Under Secretary for
Research, Education, and
Department of Agriculture
Dean Emeritus
College of Agriculture
Iowa State University
Carol Kellett
Carol Kellett
Dean Emeritus
Kansas State University
Barbara Thompson
Barbara Thompson
Office of Family Policy/
Children & Youth/Special
Needs, Office of the Deputy
Assistant Secretary of
Secretary Tom Vilsack
Secretary Tom
U.S. Department of
June Henton
June Henton
College of Human Sciences, 
Auburn University
Mary McPhail Gray
Mary McPhail Gray
McPhail Consulting
Services, LLC
Virginia Moxley
Virginia Moxley
College of Human Ecology, 
Kansas State University

Featured Project & Initiative

The Data Literacy Institute – a partnership between APLU and the Association for Institutional Research with funding from Ascendium – brings together cross-departmental teams from 11 Powered by Publics institutions from Cluster 14 to engage in training that enhance their use of data to improve equitable student outcomes. In May 2022, Powered by Publics held […]

Featured Project & Initiative

Powered by Publics is convening nearly 125 change-ready institutions within 16 “transformation clusters” focused on solving different pieces of the student success puzzle. Participating institutions are working collaboratively to increase college access, eliminate the achievement gap, and award hundreds of thousands more degrees by 2025.