Past Winners

The Commission on International Initiatives (CII) is pleased to have awarded the Michael P. Malone Award to the recipients below. To read more about the most recent award winner, see our 2022 CII Summer Meeting Malone Award Press Release.

2022 Award Recipient

  • James L. Moore III, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer, The Ohio State University

2021 Award Recipients

  • Mark Mattson, Head of Global Engagement Initiatives and International Partnerships Librarian, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Jim Butterfield, Professor of Political Science, Western Michigan University

2020 Award Recipient

  • Award cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic

2019 Award Recipient

  • Brian Steffenson, Professor and Lieberman-Okinow Endowed Chair of Cereal Disease Research, University of Minnesota

2018 Award Recipients

  • Catherine Skokan, Associate Professor Emerita of Engineering, Colorado School of Mines
  • Robert Klimek, Professor and Music Director, Colorado School of Mines

2017 Award Recipient

  • Lance Matheson, Professor, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

2016 Award Recipient

  • Judy Genshaft, President, University of South Florida

2015 Award Recipient

  • Wondwossen A. Gebreyes, Professor and Director of Global Health, The Ohio State University
  • Amit Chakma, President and Vice-Chancellor, Western University
  • Krishnaswami Srihari, Dean of the Thomas J. Watson School of Engineering and Applied Science, Binghamton University
  • Robin Reid, Director of the Endowed Center for Collaborative Conservation, Colorado State University
  • Thomas Buchanan, President, University of Wyoming
  • Hai-Lung Dai, Provost, Temple University
  • Mark G. Robson, Professor and Extension Specialist, Rutgers University
  • Liz Grobsmith, Senior Advisor to the President for Strategic and International Initiatives, Northern Arizona University
  • Daniel C. Clay, Director of Global Programs and Sustainable Agri-Food Systems and Senior Associate to the Dean, Michigan State University
  • Anne Weaver Hart, President, Temple University
  • Vishwanath (Vish) Prasad, Vice President for Research, University of North Texas
  • Peter Koehn, Professor, Comparative Government and Politics and Public Administration, The University of Montana
  • Charles W. Steger, President, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Robert J. Jones, Senior Vice President for System Academic Administration, University of Minnesota
  • Barbara J. Stoecker, Regents Professor, Oklahoma State University
  • Ronald M. Berkman, Chancellor, Cleveland State University
  • Richard H. Herman, Chancellor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Mary Ann Littrell, Head, Department of Merchandising and Design, Colorado State University
  • David H. Allen, Dean of the College of Engineering University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • John W. Head, Professor of Law, The University of Kansas
  • Robert J. Reinstein, Professor of Law, Temple University
  • Lois B. DeFleur, President, Binghamton University, State University of New York
  • Richard E. Ewing, Vice President for Research, Texas A&M University
  • Diane Holland Rickerl, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, South Dakota State University
  • Brady J. Deaton, President, University of Missouri, Columbia
  • James W. Jones, Distinguished Professor, IFAS, University of Florida
  • Alicia Skinner Cook, Professor of Human Development and Family Studies, Colorado State University
  • Daniel O. Bernstine, President Emeritus, Portland State University
  • Ronald Henry, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Georgia State University
  • John Grandin, Professor of Modern and Classical Languages and Director of International Engineering Programs, University of Rhode Island
  • Nancy Marlin, Provost and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, San Diego State University
  • Michael H. Stitsworth, Associate Director of International Programs in Agriculture, Purdue University
  • Linda L. Vallade, International Academic Programs Specialist, Purdue University

Featured Project & Initiative

The Data Literacy Institute – a partnership between APLU and the Association for Institutional Research with funding from Ascendium – brings together cross-departmental teams from 11 Powered by Publics institutions from Cluster 14 to engage in training that enhance their use of data to improve equitable student outcomes. In May 2022, Powered by Publics held […]

Featured Project & Initiative

Powered by Publics is convening nearly 125 change-ready institutions within 16 “transformation clusters” focused on solving different pieces of the student success puzzle. Participating institutions are working collaboratively to increase college access, eliminate the achievement gap, and award hundreds of thousands more degrees by 2025.