Skip Navigation

Executive Committee

Among the many important functions of APLU is convening member representatives to discuss issues of common interest or concern. APLU convenes representatives in two frameworks:  “Councils” (e.g., Council of Presidents; Council on Academic Affairs; Council on Business Affairs; etc.) composed of representatives with similar position titles; and “Commissions” (Commission on Access, Diversity, and Excellence; Commission on Food, Environment, and Renewable Resources; etc.) composed of representatives with a common topical interest, but varied titles.  Many of the Councils and Commissions have two meetings a year, once during the summer for members only at a site of their choosing, and once each fall as part of the APLU Annual Meeting. Several have additional regular meetings throughout the year.

CAA’s two major meetings are potentially large events, given APLU’s 245 member institutions. The CAA Executive Committee is responsible for organizing those meetings and any additional activities.  The Executive Committee has least 15 members, elected by CAA members to serve three-year terms.  The CAA Officers are the Chair and the Chair Elect, who are often assisted by the past Chair and the CAA representative to the APLU Board of Directors. The Executive Committee appoints a Nominating Subcommittee to identify candidates to fill various CAA positions, notably the incoming members of the Executive Committee itself. The Executive Committee discusses the overall CAA agenda at a winter meeting, usually held in February.

University of North Carolina
at Charlotte



Class of 2023

beth ingram
Beth Ingram
Northern Illinois University
Kathy Johnson headshot
Indiana University, Purdue
University Indianapolis
Carol Kim
Carol Kim
University at Albany, SUNY
John McCarthy
John McCarthy
University of Massachusetts,
Beryl McEwen
North Carolina A&T University
Susana photo
Susana Rivera-Mills
Ball State University
Iowa State University


Class of 2022

University of Florida
University of Calgary
Ohio State University
Susan Poser
University of Illinois
at Chicago
Bowling Green State

Class of 2021

Jennifer Cowley
University of North Texas
Oregon State University
Jacqueline Huntoon headshot
Michigan Technological
University of North Carolina
at Charlotte
Colorado State University



CAA Representatives to APLU Board of Directors (2020-2023)

Iowa State University