CGA Awards

Members of the CGA are invited to submit nominations for CGA Awards. Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis and can be submitted at any time. The Awards Committee (past CGA Chairs) will review nominations in a timely manner and present awards at the next appropriate opportunity, typically during an upcoming CGA meeting. CGA members may submit nominations to Ashley Amian.

Details explaining the CGA Awards can be found in the Award Guidelines. Those wishing to submit nominations are asked to follow the procedures outlined in the guidelines.

Nominations are requested for the following CGA awards:


Betty Colden Memorial Lectureship
In honor of the late Betty Colden of Michigan State University and Wayne State University, who made significant, compassionate contributions to the CGA, APLU and the profession of governmental relations.

Career Excellence Award
For outstanding contributions to the CGA, the governmental affairs profession and the higher education community over a lengthy career largely dedicated to university governmental relations.

Carolyn Cross Distinguished Service Award
For distinguished service and contributions to university governmental relations, especially to the CGA and APLU, as exemplified by the career of the late Carolyn Cross.

Jennifer Poulakidas Outstanding Achievement Award (formerly Outstanding Achievement Award)
For outstanding, specific contributions to, and achievements in, university governmental relations.

Emerging Leader Award
For newer members of the CGA who have demonstrated early leadership and involvement within the CGA and/or have made an effective contribution to the field of public university governmental relations.


Exemplary Public Servant Award
For outstanding contributions to state universities and land-grant colleges.

Exemplary University President in Governmental Relations Award
For excellence in university government relations at the federal level on behalf of state universities and land-grant colleges.

Congressional Achievement Award
For specific, outstanding contributions to state universities and land-grant colleges.

Click here to download a list of past award winners.