Skip Navigation
News & Media

News: October 2020

October 29, 2020
Washington, DC – The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) co-led Aspire: The National Alliance for Inclusive & Diverse STEM Faculty today announced the selection of 19 public research universities for its three-year institutional change effort to help the institutions develop inclusive faculty recruitment, hiring, and retention practices. The new cohort joins two earlier cohorts that are currently working together to advance such work, bringing the total number of institutions participating in the institutional change effort to 54. The National Science Foundation funds the effort as part of its INCLUDES initiative.
October 29, 2020
Every Learner Everywhere today released a new “Adaptive Courseware Implementation Guide” to help post-secondary institutions effectively implement adaptive courseware with a particular emphasis on ensuring such efforts benefit minoritized students. The practical resource, which is an update to the original guide released two years ago, better reflects the network’s present mission and focus, including equity and racial justice; digital courseware, learning technology, and sustainability; and evidence-based teaching in gateway courses. The guide, intended as a resource for faculty and course directors, is a collaborative resource from Every Learner in partnership with Intentional Futures (iF), Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), and Achieving the Dream (ATD).
October 28, 2020
Washington, DC – As part of its ongoing efforts to increase degree completion, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today named California State University, Sacramento, Kent State University, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison as finalists for its 2020 Degree Completion Award. The annual award works to identify, recognize, and reward institutions that employ innovative approaches to improve degree completion while ensuring educational quality.
October 28, 2020
While COVID-19 and recent misguided federal policy changes are significant factors in the recent decline of international student enrollment, increased competition from other countries predates both factors and is a primary force that demands a renewed focus on internationalization from U.S. research universities, according to a new report from NAFSA: Association of International Educators, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities; and INTO University Partnerships.
October 12, 2020
Washington, DC – The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) Board on Human Sciences (BoHS) today announced that four public university scholars will be honored with 2020 Board on Human Sciences Awards. The annual awards, to be presented on November 3, 2020, are given to national leaders working to advance human sciences in higher education.
October 6, 2020
Washington, D.C. — In recognition of their extraordinary community engagement initiatives, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today announced that four of its member universities have been selected as regional winners of the 2020 W.K. Kellogg Foundation Community Engagement Scholarship Award. As regional winners, the University of Memphis, The Ohio State University, the University of Utah, and the University of Vermont will compete for the national C. Peter Magrath Community Engagement Scholarship Award, which will be announced in November.
October 2, 2020
Washington, DC – Recognizing visionary leadership and diversity in educational programming, the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA), Cooperative Extension, and the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today announced that Jamie Ellis of the University of Florida will receive the 2020 Excellence in Extension Award and the University of Missouri’s 4-H Center for Youth Development will receive the National Extension Diversity Award. USDA-NIFA and Cooperative Extension have sponsored the awards since 1991. The awards will be presented virtually on October 28.