Skip Navigation
News & Media

APLU Announces 2018 Board on Human Sciences Award Winners

September 20, 2018

Washington, DC – The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) Board on Human Sciences (BoHS) today announced four outstanding individuals will be honored with its 2018 Board on Human Sciences Awards. The annual honors are presented to national leaders working to advance human sciences in higher education. The awards will be presented at the APLU Annual Meeting on November 12, 2018.

The awards are aimed at supporting the development and stewardship of academic excellence in human sciences; advocating for visibility and leveraging resources to support human sciences research, extension and teaching programs; and educating leaders regarding the capacity of the human sciences to solve human problems. The honors are part of the broader BoHS mission of promoting the intellectual integrity and stature of the human sciences at APLU-member institutions.

This year’s award winners are:

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Virginia M. Moxley – Dean emerita of the College of Human Ecology at Kansas State University – is the winner of the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors a nationally-recognized leader who has a significant history of promoting and advancing the human sciences in higher education. She played a key role on federal human sciences advisory boards throughout her career. Moxley was also an early and outspoken proponent of alternative learning models such as distance learning as a means to extend educational opportunities to students who wouldn’t typically have access to college. What’s more, she played a central role in the creation and leadership of a learning consortium helping institutions of higher education as they work to expand and improve distance learning. Throughout her career, Moxley has been a dedicated mentor of rising leaders in the field while serving on a variety of APLU’s Board on Human Sciences committees.

2018 Ellen Swallow Richards Public Service Award

Dr. Caroline E. Crocoll, Director of the Division of Family and Consumer Sciences at the United States Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA), is the winner of the Ellen Swallow Richards Public Service Award. The award honors a nationally-recognized leader who has a significant history of promoting and advancing the human sciences. As Director of the Division of Family and Consumer Sciences at NIFA for the past eight years, Crocoll has demonstrated a dedication to creating and facilitating a national agenda for human and community sciences research, education and Extension programs to promote the well-being of families and rural communities.

She has served the Extension community at the county, state and federal level in FCS and 4-H since 1993. She is currently the Chair of the Alliance for Family & Consumer Sciences, past Foreign Agricultural Service and State Department Embassy Science Fellow, Corporation for National and Community Service National Service Fellow, and is a graduate of the Federal Executive Institute focusing on Leadership in a Democratic Society.

2018 Outstanding Engagement Award

Dr. Judy Harrison, professor in the Department of Foods & Nutrition at the University of Georgia, is the winner of the 2018 Outstanding Engagement Award. The award recognizes a campus-based or a state-level faculty member with exceptional creativity and scholarship in the development, application, and evaluation of outreach, extension, and public service programs. Harrison has been instrumental in developing food safety education for child care providers, school nutrition personnel, farmers, as well as youth and adult audiences. She led the development of the curriculum for a youth food safety education program that has been used not only in Georgia, but across the country and even internationally. The USDA’s Food Safety Discovery Zone, which travels to schools and fairs to educate children on food safety, has used her work as part of their program. Her curriculum for improving safety of local foods in farmers markets has reached over 650 small-scale farmers and 150 market managers in five states in face-to-face sessions and 160 farmers and 110 market managers in eight countries, 14 states and the District of Columbia through on-line eXtension courses to help protect the health of consumers and families.

2018 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

Dr. Rick Lewis, professor in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences and Director of the Bone & Body Composition Laboratory at the University of Georgia, is the winner of the 2018 Undergraduate Research Mentor Award. The award recognizes a faculty member in the human sciences for exceptional performance as a research mentor to undergraduate students. An internationally renowned scientist, Lewis’ human research focuses on the impact of nutrition on skeletal health. In addition to mentoring graduate students, Lewis for decades has placed a priority on mentoring undergraduate students conducting research in his laboratory, investing significant time as well as financial resources. Lewis meets regularly with each student, includes them in weekly laboratory meetings and provides his students the opportunity to share progress on their work with the larger group. His mentees have become successful in a wide array of human science-related professions, such as university faculty, physicians, pharmacists, physical therapists, research dietitians, and pharmaceutical research scientists.

Subscribe to RSS

Browse By Date