Skip Navigation
News & Media


August 19, 2019
Washington, DC – Addressing the national need to broaden diversity and increase inclusion in STEM fields and higher education leadership, the Aspire Alliance’s Institutional Change Initiative (IChange) today announced the inaugural cohort of fellows in its new IAspire Leadership Academy. The leadership program aims to help STEM faculty from underrepresented backgrounds ascend to leadership roles at colleges and universities.
August 19, 2019
Washington, D.C.— Seven exemplary colleges and universities today were named Excellence in Assessment designees. They join three prior classes of designees for a total of 27 institutions recognized for their commitment to the comprehensive assessment of student learning outcomes as a means to drive internal improvement and advance student success at the institution-level. The Excellence in Assessment (EIA) designation is the first national designation of its kind, spotlighting institutions that successfully integrate assessment practices across an institution, providing evidence of student learning, and using assessment results to guide institutional decision-making and improve student performance.
July 23, 2019
Washington, DC – Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) President Peter McPherson today sent the following letter to the chair and ranking member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation endorsing the nomination of Michael Kratsios as Associate Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy and the U.S. Chief Technology Officer. McPherson encouraged the committee to advance Kratsios’s nomination and for the full Senate to confirm him. The committee is scheduled to hold a confirmation hearing for Kratsios tomorrow.
July 16, 2019
Washington, DC – The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), Association of American Universities (AAU), the Council of Graduate Schools (CGS), and 29 other higher education, student organizations, and science societies this week called on the chairs and ranking members of the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions and the House Committee on Education and Labor to make graduate education a priority as they continue their work to reauthorize the Higher Education Act.
July 16, 2019
Washington, DC – The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today announced that Dr. Brian Steffenson, Professor and Lieberman-Okinow Endowed Chair of Cereal Disease Research at the University of Minnesota, is the 2019 recipient of the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award. Steffenson is receiving the award for his renowned international agriculture research as well as his career-long commitment to helping put his research into practice across the globe. The Malone Award, a national honor sponsored by APLU and awarded annually, recognizes individuals who advance international education at public universities.