Skip Navigation
News & Media


July 13, 2015
Wondwossen A. Gebreyes, Professor and Director of Global Health at The Ohio State University, Established Exchange Programs in East Africa
July 2, 2015
Washington, DC – Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) President Peter McPherson today released the following statement regarding recent committee approval of the House and Senate versions of the Fiscal Year 2016 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education appropriations bills.
July 14, 2014
July 14, 2014--Amit Chakma of Western University; Krishnaswami Srihari of Binghamton University; and Robin Reid of Colorado State University are the 2014 recipients of the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Awards. Sponsored by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), the annual awards recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to international education at public and land-grant institutions. The recipients received their awards today during a ceremony at APLU’s 2014 Commission on International Initiatives (CII) summer meeting now underway in Berkeley, California.
May 14, 2014
May 14, 2014—The U.S. Department of State and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs yesterday issued a joint declaration launching “The Transatlantic Friendship and Mobility Initiative”, which aims to double the number of U.S. students going to France and the number of French students coming to the U.S. by 2025. APLU was involved in the discussions leading to the declaration and is pleased to endorse the initiative.
March 25, 2014
March 25, 2014—APLU President Peter McPherson released the following statement on the dedication of a statue of Dr. Norman E. Borlaug in the U.S. Capitol Building. McPherson attended today’s dedication ceremony on what would have been Borlaug’s 100th birthday. Borlaug’s agricultural research is largely credited with saving the lives of more than a billion people as part of the Green Revolution. APLU was the 2012 winner of the World Food Prize’s Borlaug Medallion, which is awarded to organizations and Heads of State who’ve made an especially noteworthy contribution to improving the world’s food supply and ensuring adequate nutrition.