Skip Navigation
News & Media


January 28, 2015
The White House today announced that President Obama’s FY 2016 budget will nearly double the amount of federal funding for combating and preventing antibiotic resistance. Dr. Lonnie King, chair of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) / Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) Task Force on Antibiotic Resistance in Production Agriculture, said the proposed federal funding is “decisive and necessary.”
November 26, 2014
The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities’ (APLU) Board on Human Sciences (BoHS) recently honored three faculty members and a national public servant with its 2014 Board on Human Sciences Awards. The annual honors, which are presented to nationally-recognized leaders working to advance human sciences in higher education, took place earlier this month during the 127th APLU Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.
November 26, 2014
The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities’ (APLU) Experiment Station Section (ESS) recently named Carolyn Brooks, Colin Kaltenbach, Arlen Leholm, Bruce McPheron and Craig Nessler recipients of the inaugural 2014 Experiment Station Section Excellence in Leadership Awards. Each of them were honored with a plaque during a special awards program held during the 127th APLU Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida earlier this month.
November 5, 2014
APLU and the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) today announced the creation of the Task Force on Antibiotic Resistance in Production Agriculture.
November 3, 2014
APLU's Council of 1890 Universities today named the 2014 recipients of the 1890 Teaching, Research and Innovation Awards. Now in its second year, the annual honor highlights exemplary achievements at 1890 land-grant institutions by recognizing advances in teaching, research and innovation on 1890 university campuses and encourages further advancement and development in areas of critical importance. The awards were presented during a special reception at the 127th APLU Annual Meeting underway in Orlando, Florida.
October 22, 2014
Recognizing visionary leadership and diversity in educational programming, Cooperative Extension and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) today announced that Robert Kallenbach from the University of Missouri will receive the 2014 Excellence in Extension Award and Cesar Asuaje from the University of Florida will receive the National Extension Diversity Award.
July 31, 2014
One year after they launched a campaign to urge Congress and the President to close the nation’s innovation deficit, a group of prominent university, scientific, and business organizations today renewed their call for increased federal investments in research to build a strong long-term economy, improve medical treatments, and strengthen national security.
May 14, 2014
May 14, 2014—Cooperative Extension held a Centennial Convocation May 8 to celebrate its 100-year heritage and look to the future. The primary focus was on Extension’s contemporary efforts and launching the next 100 years of educational programming that transforms behavior of individuals, families, youth, farmers, communities and businesses.
May 8, 2014
As you know, this year marks the 100-year anniversary of the Smith-Lever Act, which established the Cooperative Extension Service, a state-by-state national network of educators who extend university-based knowledge to the people. For a century Cooperative Extension has stimulated innovative research and vital educational programs.
May 1, 2014
More Than 130 Scientists at Public and Land-Grant Universities Provided Input