Skip Navigation
News & Media


May 1, 2014
More Than 130 Scientists at Public and Land-Grant Universities Provided Input
March 25, 2014
March 25, 2014—APLU President Peter McPherson released the following statement on the dedication of a statue of Dr. Norman E. Borlaug in the U.S. Capitol Building. McPherson attended today’s dedication ceremony on what would have been Borlaug’s 100th birthday. Borlaug’s agricultural research is largely credited with saving the lives of more than a billion people as part of the Green Revolution. APLU was the 2012 winner of the World Food Prize’s Borlaug Medallion, which is awarded to organizations and Heads of State who’ve made an especially noteworthy contribution to improving the world’s food supply and ensuring adequate nutrition.
February 7, 2014
February 7, 2014—After literally years of effort, the Senate and House finally approved a new five-year Farm Bill that President Obama today signed into law. Most of APLU’s Farm Bill priorities were incorporated within Title VII (Research & Extension) or other portions of the bill.
November 10, 2013
November 10, 2013—Recognizing visionary leadership and diversity in educational programming, Cooperative Extension today honored Jeffery T. Edwards of Oklahoma State University with the National Excellence in Extension Award, Susan Given-Seymour of Northwest Indian College with the National Extension Diversity Award, and five regional honors during the 2013 Food and Agriculture Excellence Awards at the 126th APLU Annual Meeting now underway in Washington, DC. The Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP), the representative leadership and governing body of Cooperative Extension, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture have sponsored the awards since 1991.
November 10, 2013
Six Regional and Two New Teacher Awards also Announced