Powered by Publics

Advisory Council

The Powered by Publics advisory council is comprised of the lead presidents and chancellors from each cluster who meet twice a year to provide high-level leadership and strategic guidance for the initiative:

  • Joel S. Bloom, President, New Jersey Institute of Technology
  • Nancy Cantor, Chancellor, Rutgers University-Newark
  • Mun Y. Choi, Chancellor, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • James P. Clements, President, Clemson University
  • Joan Ferrini-Mundy, President, University of Maine
  • George Jay Gogue, President, Auburn University
  • Jay Hartzell, President, University of Texas at Austin
  • Robert J. Jones, Chancellor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • David Lassner, President, University of Hawai’i System
  • Teik C. Lim, Interim President, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Joyce McConnell, President, Colorado State University
  • Charles F. Robinson, Interim Chancellor, University of Arkansas
  • Lawrence Schovanec, President, Texas Tech University
  • Kirk H. Shulz, President, Washington State University
  • M. Roy Wilson, President, Wayne State University

In addition, Powered by Publics consults a diverse array of higher education leaders in the field who advise the initiative based on their expertise. These external members are listed below

  • Robert Anderson, President, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association
  • Dhanfu E. Elston, Chief of Staff and Senior Vice President for Strategy, Complete College America
  • Antonio Flores, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities.
  • Christine Keller, Executive Director, Association for Institutional Research.
  • Jennifer Keup, Director, National Resource Center, University of South Carolina.
  • Dane Linn, Vice President of Immigration, Workforce & Education, Business Roundtable.
  • Demarée Michelau, President, Western Interstate Commission of Higher Education.
  • Cedric Mutebi, Student Representative, Wayne State University.
  • Ameilia Parnell, Vice President for Research and Policy, National Association of Student Personnel Administrators.
  • Deborah Santiago, Chief Executive Officer, Excelencia in Education.
  • Karen Stout, President and Chief Executive Officer, Achieving the Dream.
  • Kathy Thompson, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Frontier Set HBCU Intermediary, based at the University of South Alabama.
  • Josh Wyner, Vice President, Founder, and Executive Director, Aspen Institute, College Excellence.

Featured Project & Initiative

The Data Literacy Institute – a partnership between APLU and the Association for Institutional Research with funding from Ascendium – brings together cross-departmental teams from 11 Powered by Publics institutions from Cluster 14 to engage in training that enhance their use of data to improve equitable student outcomes. In May 2022, Powered by Publics held […]

Featured Publication

2022 APLU Annual Report