Skip Navigation
U.S. Capitol Banner
Policy & Advocacy

Energy and Water Development

Appropriations within the Energy and Water bill provide critical investments for the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Science and Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E). Through DOE competitively awarded grants, researchers advance vital early stage research at both U.S. universities and the network of 17 DOE National Laboratories focused on advancing new technologies in areas such as quantum science, genomics and engineering biology, microelectronics, artificial intelligence, and machine learning.  Grants also prepare the next generation of American scientific and engineering talent. Investments in ARPA-E are also needed to maintaining the United States’ innovation leadership and our country’s national security. ARPA-E research grants fund cutting-edge energy technology projects that advance the energy science and engineering discipline and help define new opportunities for commercialization of advanced technologies. ARPA-E has a solid history of pushing transformational research projects to market. Thanks to federal investment in ARPA-E, 76 companies have been formed, 2,489 peer-reviewed journal articles have been published to advance knowledge, and 346 patents have been issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.


APLU’s FY2022 Energy and Water Appropriations Advocacy Document provides additional context regarding our key priorities energy-related research, as well as justifications to support our funding request levels

Additional FY2022 Resources:  

  • President’s FY2022 Budget Request for the U.S. Department of Energy Overview and Budget Summary 
  • U.S. House of Representatives FY2022 Energy-Water Appropriations Bill Text and Report Language
  • U.S. Senate FY2022 Energy-Water Appropriations Bill Text and Report Language
    Resolution of House – Senate Differences: Bill Text and Report Language [N/A]

Coalition Letters for FY2022 funding allocations endorsed by APLU: 

Member of Congress Dear Colleague Letters Supporting APLU Priorities: 

  • U.S. Representatives Foster, Zeldin, Leger Fernandez, and Weber: FY2022 DOE Office of Science allocation 
  • U.S. Senators Durbin and Duckworth: FY2022 DOE Office of Science allocation