Skip Navigation
Projects & Initiatives

CADE Distinguished Service Award


The Commission on Access, Diversity and Excellence Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize and honor an individual who has made significant contributions within the major focus areas of the Commission. The recipient of this award shall demonstrate sustained accomplishments in one or more of the following:

  1. Maximizing institutional and/or societal resources to broaden access and opportunity in higher education.
  2. Utilizing diversity to expand the range and quality of the undergraduate  experience.
  3. Contributing to the achievement of diversity at all levels of the academic community.
  4. Creating partnerships to bring about beneficial social change.
  5. Providing local and/or national leadership on issues related to diversity and social change.

Each year, the Commission requests nominations for the award from all APLU member institutions.  Nominations are usually requested around October 1 of each year.

  • How To Apply


    The CADE Distinguished Service Award will be presented during the APLU Annual Meeting in November 2015. A panel will be chosen that represents APLU institutions. This panel will select the finalist for the CADE Distinguished Service Award.  The finalist will receive a plaque and will deliver the keynote at the CADE Distinguished Service Awards Luncheon.


    Anyone may nominate any individual who meets the criteria for the award. Nominations are not limited to APLU members. Nominations must provide clear and compelling information about the nominee, their career, and how they have sustained accomplishments in one or more of the five areas outlined in the purpose above.


    The application packet should include the nomination form (pdf version), a letter that provides clear and compelling information about the nominee, their career and how they have sustained accomplishments in one or more of the five areas outlined above and any supporting materials (i.e., news articles, program booklets, etc.)

    Send electronic version to:

  • Past Awardees

    2015 Gregory J. Vincent, Vice President, Diversity and Community Engagement, University of Texas at Austin
    2014 Emily Auerbach, Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison; W. Terrell Jones, Vice Provost, Pennsylvania State University (posthumously)
    2013  M. Christopher Brown, President  Alcorn State University
    2012  Ricardo B. Jacquez, Dean, College of Engineering, New Mexico State University
    2011  Diana Natalicio, President, University of Texas El Paso
    2010  Winston C. Doby, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs Emeritus,   University of California, Los Angeles
    2009  Robert Corrigan, President, San Francisco State University
    2008  No Recipient Awarded    
    2007  Ted Shaw, President, NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc.
    2006  Martin C. Jischke, President, Purdue University
    2005  C. Peter Magrath, President, NASULGC
    2004  Phillip E. Jones, Vice President for Student Affairs, University of Iowa
    2003  Njeri Nuru-Holm, Vice President for Student Affairs, Cleveland State University
    2002  William E. Kirwan, President, The Ohio State University
    2001  James A. Anderson, Vice President for Student Affairs, North Carolina State University
    2000  Frances D. Horowitz, President, The Graduate School and University Center (CUNY)
    1999  Trevor L. Chandler, Vice President for Academic Affairs, University of California System