

July 16, 2018

The Honorable Lamar Alexander Chairman Subcommittee Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Ranking Member Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Marcy Kaptur Ranking Member Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairmen Alexander and Simpson and Ranking Members Feinstein and Kaptur:

On behalf of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), I write to thank you for your ongoing work on the fiscal year (FY) 2019 Energy and Water appropriations bills and to urge that the strongest possible funding levels for important energy research programs prevail in conference.

Our members — the nation's public research universities, land-grant institutions, and state university systems — conduct a majority of university-based research for the federal government and appreciate your efforts to appropriate funding in a timely manner. We strongly commend you for crafting legislation that declines the administration's proposed termination of the Advanced Research Projects Agency for Energy (ARPA-E) and deep cuts to the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science. Those proposals would undermine our nation's energy security and ability to maintain a global competitive edge.

APLU and our member universities are very appreciative for the robust funding included in both the House and Senate bills for the DOE Office of Science. As you begin to reconcile your differences through conference negotiations, we respectfully urge you to include in the final bill \$6.65 billion for the Office of Science, which the Senate approved with overwhelming bipartisan support. Additionally, we urge you to include the Senate's mark of \$375 million for ARPA-E. These forward-looking funding levels demonstrate your great commitment to advancing U.S. energy security, building our future economy, and fostering the next generation of scientists.

Our nation's ability to advance research, support a growing economy, and recruit top-notch researchers rests on a foundation of steady, predictable funding. Rather than stalling progress with intermittent appropriations, a foreseeable foundation of funding ultimately accelerates the momentum of energy research needed to preserve the United States' leadership on the international stage.

We look forward to continuing to work with you to bolster support for DOE Office of Science and ARPA-E in FY 2019 and beyond. If APLU can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me or Jennifer Poulakidas (<u>ipoulakidas@aplu.org</u>, 202.478.6053).

Sincerely,

Peter McPherson

Petit Mc Ham

President APLU

cc:

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell

Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer

House Speaker Paul Ryan

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi

Senate Appropriations Committee Chairman Richard Shelby

House Appropriations Committee Chairman Rodney Frelinghuysen

Senate Appropriations Committee Ranking Member Patrick Leahy

House Appropriations Committee Ranking Member Nita Lowey

Members of the Senate and House Appropriations Subcommittee on Energy and Water

Development