News & Media

APLU Accepting Nominations for 2014 Magrath Engagement Awards

December 18, 2013—Applications for the 2014 C. Peter Magrath University Community Engagement Awards are now being accepted. Established in 2006 with support from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, the awards program seeks to identify colleges and universities that have redesigned their learning, discovery, and engagement functions to become even more involved with their communities.

The engagement awards program consists of two awards: The Engagement Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award and the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award.

The Engagement Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards are presented annually each fall during the Engagement Scholarship Conference (ESC).

The C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award is presented during the APLU Annual Meeting in November and includes a sculpture and a $20,000 prize. The national award is named for C. Peter Magrath, APLU president from 1992 to 2005.

A panel of university engagement scholars will select the regional winners and up to 10 additional exemplary applications. Each will receive a plaque during the National ESC Conference. The regional winners also receive certificates to be shared with their community partners and move on to compete for the national award. The regional award cash prize of $5,000 will be presented at the APLU Annual meeting in November 2014.

Each regional winner receives $2,500 for travel to participate in the ESC and to help support the production of a two minute digital “story” about their partnership to be shown at the conference and the APLU Annual Meeting. The regional winners also are provided two complimentary registrations for the ESC.


  • Access & Diversity

Subscribe to RSS

Browse By Date

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun