News & Media

Excellence in Assessment Designations Application Period Extended to May 31

The application materials for the 2019 Excellence in Assessment (EIA) Designations are now available. Institutions wishing to apply for an EIA Designation should submit their applications by May 31, 2019.

The Excellence in Assessment (EIA) program recognizes exemplary colleges and universities that successfully integrate assessment practices across campus, provide evidence of student learning outcomes to stakeholders, and use assessment results to guide institutional decision-making and improve student performance. Through a rigorous review process, the VSA, in partnership with the Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U) and the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA) recognized five institutions that earned the prestigious EIA Designation in 2018:

  • Bowie State University
  • Harper College
  • Mississippi State University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte

EIA designations focus on the process and use of assessment outcomes on campus, rather than on student performance or accomplishment. While student outcomes are an essential component of assessment processes, they are only one of many pieces necessary to facilitate institutional growth and improvement. The EIA designation evaluation process is directly linked to the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA) Transparency Framework. The Transparency Framework provides a structure to make evidence of student accomplishment accessible, useful, and meaningful to audiences both on and off campuses.

If you have questions, do not hesitate to contact us. More information can also be found at the EIA website or visit the VSA website.

  • Accountability & Transparency

Subscribe to RSS

Browse By Date

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun