News & Media

Aspire Alliance IAspire Leadership Academy Application Period Open; Application Deadline Extended to June 4

The National Science Foundation-funded Aspire Alliance’s Institutional Change Initiative (IChange), which APLU and the University of Georgia lead, is announcing the revised call for applications for the NSF-funded Aspire Alliance’s IAspire Leadership Academy. The updates include:

  • Deadline for applications has been extended to June 4, 2021.
  • Program fee has been reduced to $5,000 from $7,500 .
  • A limited number of scholarships will be available to help offset institutional costs.
  • The session structure has been revised for this cohort to one in-person session and two virtual sessions.

The academy elevates the preparedness of academic leaders from underrepresented groups so they can aspire to and succeed in more senior leadership roles. The program offers fellowships to individuals from traditionally underrepresented groups (such as women in computer science or Latino/a and African-American faculty in most STEM fields) currently in formal or non-formal leadership roles in STEM higher education. Formal roles would include leadership roles such as department heads and non-formal roles such as college-level committee chairs.

IAspire Leadership Fellows will gain critical leadership skills across numerous competencies. They will have opportunities to learn how to lead more effectively in increasingly complex environments and build confidence to influence institutional transformation either in their current position or as they rise to other positions of leadership.

Learn more and apply to the academy on the Aspire Alliance IAspire Leadership Academy site.

APLU member institutions that have sponsored fellows in the past include: Boise State University; California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo; Colorado State University; Florida State University; Georgia State University; Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis; Iowa State University; Montana State University; Oregon State University; Texas A&M University; University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of Central Florida; University of Cincinnati; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Maryland, Baltimore County; University of Minnesota; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of South Florida; University of Tennessee, Knoxville; University of Texas at Austin; University of Virginia; University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • Access & Diversity
  • Research, Science & Technology

Subscribe to RSS

Browse By Date

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun