News & Media

APLU Announces 2015 Malone International Leadership Award Recipient

Wondwossen A. Gebreyes, Professor and Director of Global Health at The Ohio State University, Established Exchange Programs in East Africa

July 13, 2015 — The Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) today announced that Wondwossen A. Gebreyes, professor and director of global health at The Ohio State University, is the 2015 recipient of the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award for his work in establishing exchange programs in East Africa. The Malone Award, a national honor sponsored by APLU and awarded annually, recognizes individuals who further international education at public universities.

Throughout his distinguished career, Gebreyes has established and expanded exchange programs between Ohio State and several East African universities. As a trained molecular immunologist and a leading scholar in his field, Gebreyes’s research and assistance with building institutional capacity at East African universities has greatly benefited the region

“The entire College of Veterinary Medicine is enormously proud of Dr. Gebreyes’s many accomplishments and as the recipient of the Malone Award,” said Lonnie King, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine. “His work on global ‘One Health’ strategies to address existing and emerging zoonoses is innovative, effective and impactful in our global communities. He richly deserves this prestigious recognition.”

Gebreyes’s international work extends well beyond the classroom. He serves as the principal investigator of the National Institutes of Health’s Fogarty International Center, contributing to research and a training program on molecular epidemiology of foodborne pathogens for eastern Africa, including Ethiopia, Kenya and Tanzania. Gebreyes also shepherded “One Health Ethiopia,” an initiative aimed at connecting researchers, clinicians and students from all corners of the globe to address major emerging health threats in the East Africa region. He’s also developed online coursework that has educated more than 7,000 students in 90 countries.

“Dr. Gebreyes’s career serves as a model for international education and development initiatives,” said Peter McPherson, APLU president. “His work both in and out of the classroom has connected students and researchers across the world. He is an excellent choice for this honor.”

The Malone Award honors the legacy of the late Michael P. Malone, a champion of international education and one-time chair of the APLU Commission on International Education. Malone served as president of Montana State University from 1991 until his death in 1999.

Picture from left to right: J Mark Erbaugh, Ohio State University; Gifty Ako-Adounvo, Ohio State University; Wondwossen Gebreyes, Ohio State University; William Brustein, Ohio State University; Kelechi Kalu, formerly of Ohio State University.

Subscribe to RSS

Browse By Date

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun