Wendy Fink
Executive Director, Academic Programs Section & Assistant Vice President, Food, Agriculture & Natural Resources (FANR)

NARRU Awards

Since 2008, NARRU has given two awards each year, one to the Distinguished Young Educator and one to the Distinguished Educator.

Distinguished Young Educator
2008 Steven J. Rocca – California State University, Fresno
2009 Ty Ellis Lawrence – West Texas A&M
2010 Christopher A. Baxter – University of Wisconsin, Platteville
2011 David Kopsell – Illinois State University
2012 Charles R. Steiner – University of Wisconsin, Platteville
2013 Courtney Myers – Texas Tech University
2014 Ryan Rathmann – Texas Tech University
2015 Erica Irlbeck – Texas Tech University
2016 Christopher Estepp – Sul Ross University
2017 Melissa A. Remley – Missouri State University
2018 Lucas Maxwell – Illinois State University
2019 Mathu Venkateshwaren – University of Wisconsin-Platteville
2020 Candis Carraway – Stephen F. Austin State University
2021 Brandon Smith, Tarleton State University

Distinguished Educator
2008 David H. Headrick – Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
2009 Kerry W. Tudor – Illinois State University
2010 Louis A. Harveson – Sul Ross University
2011 Annie Kinwa-Muzinga – University of Wisconsin, Platteville
2012 Stanley Kelly – Sam Houston State University
2013 Robert Lane – Sam Houston State University
2014 Foy Mills – Sam Houston State University
2015 Marcy Beverly – Sam Houston State University
2016 Chance Brooks – Texas Tech University
2017 Thayne Montague – Texas Tech University
2018 Heidi Brady – Texas Tech University
2019 David Kopsell – Illinois State University
2020 Shae Porr, Murray State University
2021 David Frazier, Tarleton State University

Prior to 2008, NARRU awarded only Distinguished Educator awards.

To apply for these awards, please see the following guidelines:

NARRU Distinguished Young Educator Guidelines
NARRU Distinguished Young Educator Nomination Form

NARRU Distinguished Educator Guidelines
NARRU Distinguished Educator Nomination Form

Evaluation Criteria Rubric

Featured Project & Initiative

The Data Literacy Institute – a partnership between APLU and the Association for Institutional Research with funding from Ascendium – brings together cross-departmental teams from 11 Powered by Publics institutions from Cluster 14 to engage in training that enhance their use of data to improve equitable student outcomes. In May 2022, Powered by Publics held […]

Featured Project & Initiative

Powered by Publics is convening nearly 125 change-ready institutions within 16 “transformation clusters” focused on solving different pieces of the student success puzzle. Participating institutions are working collaboratively to increase college access, eliminate the achievement gap, and award hundreds of thousands more degrees by 2025.