Skip Navigation
Researchers and Students

Communications and Marketing Committee

The Communications and Marketing Committee (CMC) is a standing committee of APLU’s Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA) Policy Board of Directors. The CMC oversees and guides the educational effort to increase awareness of the land-grant universities’ agricultural and related programs, Agricultural Experiment Stations, and Cooperative Extension Services. The CMC is supported by three sections of the BAA: Administrative Heads, Cooperative Extension, and Experiment Station.


JF Meullenet (SAAESD)
Associate Vice President for Agriculture Research
Director of the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
University of Arkansas

Nancy Cox (Southern AHS)
Vice President for Land-grant Engagement and Dean
University of Kentucky

Karla Trautman (NCCEA)
Extension Director
South Dakota State University


J. Scott Angle (AHS Chair)
Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources
University of Florida

Chris Pritsos (ESCOP Chair, WAAESD)
Director of Nevada Ag Experiment Station, Associate Dean of Research
University of Nevada, Reno

Wendy Powers (ECOP Chair, WEDA)
Associate Vice President, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources
University of California

Wendie Cohick (ESS, NERA)
Dean of Research and Graduate Education, School of Environmental & Biological Sciences
Director of Research, NJ Agricultural Experiment Station
Rutgers University

Mark Latimore (CES, AEA)
Associate Dean for Extension
Fort Valley State University

Cynda Clary (ACOP, Southern APS)
Associate Dean, Ferguson College of Agriculture
Oklahoma State University

Glynda Becker (CGA)
Vice President for External Affairs and Government Relations
Chief Legislative Officer
Washington State University

Gabrielle Serra (CGA co-liaison)
Director of Federal Government Relations
Oregon State University

Elizabeth Gregory North (ACE)
Head, Extension Ag Communications
Mississippi State University

Faith Peppers (National Impacts Database)
Director of Communications
National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)

Katie Frazier (CARET)
Chief External Affairs and Marketing Officer
Farm Credit of the Virginias

Doug Steele (AHS Executive Director)
Vice President, Food, Agriculture, and Natural Resources
Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Caroline (Crocoll) Henney (Executive Director, ECOP)
Executive Director, Cooperative Extension System
Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Andrea Putman
Assistant Vice President, Food Agriculture and Natural Resources, Communications and Partnerships
Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

Rick Rhodes (Executive Vice-Chair, NERA)
Associate Dean, Research and Outreach
Associate Director, RI Agricultural Experiment Station
Associate Director, RI Cooperative Extension
University of Rhode Island

David Leibovitz (Assistant Executive Vice-Chair, ex-officio)
Coordinator, NERA
University of Rhode Island


Meetings & Events Events

All Day
New Orleans, Louisiana
All Day
Omni Shoreham Hotel, Washington, DC

Featured Project & Initiative


Three university of idaho students doing field research in a meadow
Agriculture, Human Sciences & Natural Resources
APLU's Board on Natural Resources and Board on Oceans, Atmosphere, and Climate authored the Science, Education, and Outreach Roadmap for Natural Resources to provide guidance for policy makers in strategic planning and investment.

Featured Project & Initiative


Student testing chemicals in a lab
Agriculture, Human Sciences & Natural Resources
Iowa State University will establish and host a new national Institute for Antimicrobial Resistance Research and Education. APLU and the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) chose Iowa State to lead the institute, which is designed to foster and coordinate research and education activities using a One Health approach to comprehensively tackle the AMR problem.